Choosing Adventure

20160917_085326.jpgToday I took the time to go on a walk with my family down to the river behind our house. If I am by myself I can get down there and back in about 35 min, we took over an hour for our walk today. Our forest is a mature pine forest so we had many mushrooms to stop and admire along the way as well as other interesting things we found. It was a delightful break from our normal weekday routine to get out and go for that walk. Because my kids are 3 and 1 it is not somewhere I can take them without another adult. The river was very tame today because it has been so dry here this summer but normally I worry about them falling in and being swept away.

I love being out in nature and enjoying the simple beauty of it. 20160917_092227.jpgTo me that is one of the saddest parts of how the main stream of modern society lives now. We used to be connected enough with the natural world that we could simply glance at the sun or the stars and be able to know what time it was. Most of us have lost that rhythm. So how do we work towards regaining our integration with our natural world. How do we let go of societies obsession with being young, perfect and rich and instead celebrate the changes and seasons of our lives as they come.

“Live in each season as it passes; breathe the air, drink the drink, taste the fruit, and resign yourself to the influence of the earth.”
― Henry David Thoreau, Walden

20160917_092749.jpgI am guilty of getting caught up in work and the fast hectic pace of life. I know that it is costing me so much. I lose time with my kids, the physical health of my body, the health of my mental state, the quality and depth of my friendships. All for what, for profit, fame, so I can finally have free time, so I can help the poor people of the world, so I can build a wonderous place. Some of these are noble goals some less so; but we cannot pour from an empty cup. In the end we only have so much time and time is precious. We must choose how we live. That comes out in how we care for ourselves and others.20160917_093602.jpg

 

 

“The cost of a thing is the amount of what I will call life which is required to be exchanged for it, immediately or in the long run.”
― Henry David Thoreau, Walden

 

 

blog-challenge-badge-12

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 8. This challenge has been wonderful for me to work on my mental state and how I am going to re-structure my life so I can live the life I am meant to live. I will make time for more walks be they family time or alone time. These adventures be they big or small are precious because they are time well spent.

3 thoughts on “Choosing Adventure

  1. How lovely to get to slow down and spend this time in nature with your family! You have always had a wonderful connection to the trees. I remember walks with you in our own forest and to 50 foot cliff during good times and bad when you just needed to be there in the forest and be still and listen. It helps us to find balance and to let go of our everyday stresses in life. Sharing these times with family also brings you closer to each other.

    Like

Leave a Reply

