Stretching the Focus muscle

finding-focusMaintaining focus is difficult. For me it is a constant battle to keep my mind on one thing at a time. I am constantly getting distracted by laundry, dishes, sorting kids clothes, etc. It is part of what I love about living in a community, you can rely on other people to help you with your basic needs. This gives you the time to be more focused on the work you need to do. But it also costs you the time it takes to do your part in the community as well.

And there I go again off on another tangent, each one is related and just a few degrees off topic of course. Focus allows us to be productive and to be more in touch with our life. It is essential for a good work life blend. I also belive that we must focus on being positive as well in our daily lives. The more we focus on how negative we feel about our job, life, relationships etc. the more we degrade our own lives. People love to claim that they are being realistic when they have a negative view. What they don’t realise is that they are creating their own reality with negative thoughts. Each one of us is in control of how we perceive and react to the world around us, we must strive and focus on using a good lens.

Focus is not just about controlling what your mind is doing in the moment, it is also about controling the priorities your mind views things with. Having clear priorities allows you to say ‘Yes’ to the things you want and need to be doing and say ‘No’ to the things that will not serve your life. I struggle with saying No to things, I love to help people and making people happy. But I have lost the closeness with friends because I said yes to customers more often than I said yes to my friends. It is an error I am working on correcting but one that will take time and effort to fix. Effort focusing on the positive and what will be positive in my life.

Focus is a practice like meditation or a martial art. We cannot get better at it unless we do it daily and work to improve. For me that is part of why I am writing here. I am working on my focus and on my personal growth. My goals are large and ambitious especially because I do not wish to sacrifice my social life for them.csez15qwaaajofg.jpg

Leave a Reply

